So I have to learn how to type with two thumbs

iPhone review

On Friday I bought a new phone, first in 5 years. I had heard about the iPhone but thought “not for me” then a new one arrived 3G (s). I read about it and it looked good. I needed a new phone so I put my name down. Two weeks ago. Got a call on Wednesday saying it would be in on Friday. 26th June

Got it about 5.30pm. Back to the shop ’cause I didn’t know how to put the sim in…back again cause I couldn’t register it. I am really stupid, no really, it was so easy…..needs to be plugged into PC. The interface is superb, synchronisation uploading & downloading are very fast.

So I am up and running. Added my contacts and texted everyone with my new number cool interface, very smart and intuitive – a smart phone. So I started to explore. Safari compass, gave me my exact position and then gave me step by step details on how to walk to St Stephen’s Green from 11 Church St Tullamore, 94.1 km, 19 hours and 2 minutes….

Went to my websites, explored them, book marked them and linked them to my iPhone home page, did this with more sites. Sent some emails. Ok Internet works. Registered with iTunes store.

Took some pics, texted them, emailed them, then did the same with video – so easy. Set up call divert from my old phone, set up voice mail on my new phone, made a voice file or two.

Next day installed http://cooliris.com get it for your PC as well; installed sky news and Google -Google Earth too. I needed a document handler so bought this app for €4.95. (email as attachment). I then spent a couple of hour’s just playing – best toy going! (I think it is important to enjoy yourself while being serious)

Enjoyed picture taking without a flash and made a few videos again excellent quality. I set up an Apple id. I logged into YouTube. Joined Wimbledon and imeem. Made a serious video about the phone, took me four tries to get it reasonably ok -will put it up on youtube tomorrow. Went down the pub and started typing this ~ wide screen, two thumbs.

Problems: Battery life seems very poor, ran out of memory, haven’t found support for Adobe (must have it). Then disaster: battery warning, I left it for a bit then plugged it in. Left it for 2 hours, tried it: nothing. Went online no help could be found. 3 hours: nothing. Went to bed. Woke up & tried it and nothing. Very disappointed. Took it back to the shop, ok come back in an hour. Ok. Went back “sorry too busy, come back tomorrow? or here is the apple support number….”

Went home, a bit sad as I thought I had found a great piece of serious hardware.

Phoned Apple support: “Ok, hold both buttons down at the same time” And it all came back to life! Battery? “Just flick the switch on the side to turn off 3G and the battery will last 3 times as long, have a nice day”

Cool. Time to post my video to YouTube. Tried 3 times but couldn’t get it to work -don’t know why…..yet. Given my experience it is probably me ;). The video is a .mov file so it is huge. I will convert it and reduce the size by about 70% (flash or windows)

So, new kid on the block, good looking, rich, street smart, sexy, really intelligent, fits in with the cool guys but your parents will love him.

Hey! Just got a new best friend.

The Video is here

