Tags

, , , , ,

eCollege.me is nearly ready. I have transferred it from WordPress to my Hostgator hosting account. This means I can set up sub domains and have email accounts. Currently the eCollege site auto directs to the blog. I love the design you can view it here. (my links always open a new window)

I have a problem.

einsteinlaughing

omgg.net  how can I worry with a picture like that on my page? My problem is this: I have too many domains and I need help. I have now registered 45 domains, all of which IMHO are great,  Really Great dot me  and Really Really Great dot com. I can manage them all but it is getting to the point where i have to start teaching others. My message is simple : Everyone should have an Internet address. I can teach HTML and how to set up a domain. I have a disability; I am bipolar, manic depressive in old jargon. There is now a strong movement for people with disabilities to access Internet technology. I can help with this.

I have skimmed The ICT  pdf on disability and inclusiveness for those with disabilities. Bit of my history, two points:

  1. During my first degree (B.Sc. (hons) Psychology) I visited a few large mental hospitals in the UK that were being closed and the patients released into the community. They were terrible places. Care in the community was to be the thing. I spent six months in an acute admissions ward of a psychiatric unit in a general hospital. Often patients were dragged in screaming and kicking and forcibly medicated. Some were given ECT.
  2. Michael was a young schizophrenic 6ft tall and built like a brick shithouse. He was admitted to psychiatric care because of his behaviour. He was released into the community without any support. He returned to our local housing estate and the local crack dealers were using him as muscle. They kept him supplied with crack cocaine. He went on to murder an ordinary person who was visiting the estate for no good reason. He killed him by stomping on the victims face who later died from facial injuries. I had to write a social enquiry report for the central criminal court (Old Bailey). Despite Michael being mentally ill I made sure he did NOT get a three year hospital order. He was too dangerous. He was sentenced to 18 years in a prison hospital. Care in the community did not work.

Being mentally ill is a disability and from my skimming of the report disability is mostly seen as being physical or as a mental defect. My target is the mentally ill, which is a permanent disability. There are several things I can do.

  1. Building our self-esteem is something most of us will have to work on all our lives. Most of us will never reach a stage in life where we feel 100% secure about ourselves. Certain events in our daily lives take a toll on our self-esteem, just like other events can make us feel better about ourselves. The Internet is a great medium for encouraging self esteem. Having an Internet identity can promote self esteem
  2. Skills can be taught like basic HTML and graphics.
  3. Having a blog can be a wonderful form of expression.
  4. I belong to the blues community in the virtual world of Second Life, it is a very caring community. I have blogged about it a lot and it is detailed in my briefing on Cybercommunities here. I believe it would help to overcome feelings of isolation.

This is my goal to target people suffering from a mental illness ( I an a qualified counsellor) . I can guide and teach all of the above. How am I going to do this? I’m not sure. I need advice and I will seek it from the RSA.

Meanwhile back at the ranch I just got my brain pickings Sunday report. Very interesting and I highly recommend you subscribe to it.

The Psychology of Getting Unstuck: How to Overcome the “OK Plateau” of Performance & Personal Growth

by

